Past Commissioners

Commissioners (2005 – 2009)

  1. Dr. Ransome E. Owan Chairman -
    Chief Executive Officer
  2. Mallam Abdulrahman Ado, Vice Chairman -
    Market Competition & Rates
  3. Dr. Alimi Abdul-Razaq, Commissioner -
    Legal & Licensing
  4. Engr. M.B.G. Bunu,  Commissioner -
    Finance & Support Services
  5. Dr. Grace Eyoma, Commissioner -
    Government & Consumer Affairs
  6. Prof. O. C. Iloeje, Commissioner -
    Research & Development
  7. Engr. Abimbola Odubiyi, Commissioner -
    Engineering, Standard & Safety

Commissioners (2010 -2015)

  1. Dr. Sam Amadi, Chairman -
    Chief Executive Officer
  2. Alhaji Lawan Bello, Vice Chairman -
    Renewable Energy, Research &  Development
  3. Dr. Steven Andzenge, Commissioner -
    Legal, Licensing & Enforcement
  4. Patrick Umeh, Commissioner -
    Finance & Management Services
  5. Dr. Abba Ibrahim, Commissioner -
    Government & Consumer Affairs
  6. Eyo Ekpo, Commissioner -
    Markets, Competition & Rates
  7. Engr. Mary E. Awolokun, Commissioner -
    Engineering, Standard & Safety

The Commission was established via an act of the parliament- The Electric Power Sector Reform (EPSR) Act 2005. Section 34 of the Act stipulates the Commission shall consist of seven Commissioners with five years single term tenure renewable for maximum of an additional tenure. The Commissioners were appointed by the President subject to Senate confirmation.

The first Commission was inaugurated in October 2005. The Second Commission was inaugrated December 2010. There were two interregnums between the first and second and the third Commission when interim administrative arrangements were in place.

The present board of Commissioners, which is the third, were inaugurared on February 7, 2017.   They include: -


Engr. Sanusi Garba

Sanusi Garba

Vice Chairman/ Commissioner, Market Competition & Rates
Prof. Frank Nwoye Okafor

Frank Nwoye Okafor

Commissioner Engineering, Performance and Monitoring
Dr Moses Arigu

Moses Arigu

Commissioner, Consumer Affairs
Nathan Rogers Shatti

Nathan Rogers Shatti

Commissioner, Finance & Management Services

Dr. Musiliu Olalekan Oseni

Musiliu Olalekan Oseni

Commissioner, Planning, Research and Strategy

Dafe C. Akpeneye

Dafe C. Akpeneye

Commissioner, Legal, Licencing and Compliance










Corporate Headquarters

Adamawa Plaza,
 Plot 1099,
First Avenue, 
Off Shehu Shagari Way
Central Business District

Abuja F.C.T, Nigeria
Tel: +234 09 4621400, 09 4621410